ADC Logo

ADC constitutes eight-man caretaker committee

The National Executive Committee of the African Democratic Congress on Monday constituted an eight-man caretaker committee to pilot the party’s affairs.

A statement issued by the chairman, Kingsley Temitope Ogga, on behalf of the NEC said the committee set up followed the expiration of the Ralph Okey Nwosu-led National Working Committee of the party.

The newly appointed caretaker committee is being chaired by Senator Patricia Naomi Akwashiki, the current chairman of the Board of Trustees, while Kennedy Odion is to act as Secretary.

Other members of the new interim national leadership of the ADC included Lady Angela Johnson, Prof. Kabiru Isah Dangogo, Manzo Ibrahim, Lesanmi Omolayo, Kingsley Temitope Ogga, and Emma Dibia (Legal Adviser).

The statement said the main terms of reference of the new interim leader of the party is to plan and conduct a National Convention to elect substantive national officers within the next six weeks.

The PUNCH recalled that 27 State chairmen of the ADC had, during a NEC meeting of the party on Wednesday last week, called on Nwosu to vacate office following the expiration of his tenure.

Nwosu had been piloting the party’s affairs for the last 17 years.