Daniel Igali

Daniel Igali Elected Into UWW Bureau

President of the Nigeria Wrestling Federation Daniel Igali has been elected into the highest ruling body of the United World Wrestling (UWW) known as the Bureau.

Igali, who is one of the three new members elected into the seven-member Bureau was on Saturday, elected at the ordinary Congress sequel to the World Championships in Belgrade, Serbia, kicking off Saturday.

To join the Bureau, Igali topped the poll with 83 votes being the highest among the 17 contestants that featured in the election. The elected members will serve for a five-year term.

Out of the seven, four were re-elected which include Theodoros Hamakos, Karl-Martin Dittmann, Rodika Yaksi, and Namig Aliyev. The three newly elected members are Igali (Nigeria), Razvan Pircalabu (Romania), and Zhang Ye (China).

UWW President and International

Olympic Committee (IOC) executive board member Nenad Lalovic opened the Congress which was attended by 106 countries.

“Our family is not about politics but about wrestlers and fans. So we should remain united. Our athletes promote peace around the globe. We had problems in the past but we hope our medals will shine in the right way,” said Lalovic